Academic Council

The Academic Council is the body which has a final say on all academic matters in the university. It is headed by the Provost and has all the Deans, all the Principals of the constituent colleges, one Teacher representative from each faculty and six other experts nominated by the President/Provost. All academic matters such as regulations, course structure, course syllabi, the fees to be paid etc…are thoroughly discussed in the Academic Council and recommended to the Board of Management.




1.1 (i)

Provost (Chairperson)

Dr. Ketan Kotecha

1.1 (ii)

All Deans of the University

Dean of the Faculty of

a) Engineering & Technology

b) Architecture

c) Management

d) Pharmacy

e) Ayurveda

f) Homoeopathy

g) Nursing

h) Physiotherapy

i) IT & Computer Application

j) Pure & Applied Science

k) Social Work

l) Vocational Studies

m) Information & Library Sciences

n) Fine Arts

1.1 (iii)

Heads of the Centers involved in Academic and Research Activities

Principals of 22 colleges under the University and Dean – Doctoral Programmes.

1.1 (iv)

One teacher from amongst each of the Faculty of the University

a) Faculty of Engineering & Technology – Shri. Bhavesh Mewada

b) Faculty of Architecture – Shri. Maulik Ravi Hajarnis

c) Faculty of Management – Ms. Amita Garg

d) Faculty of Pharmacy – Shri. Lalit Lata Jha

e) Faculty of Ayurveda – Shri. Haresh N. Soni

f) Faculty of Homoeopathy – Shr. J. J. Patel

g) Faculty of Nursing – Ms. Aruna L Kishor

h) Faculty of Physiotherapy – Ms. Chaitali J. Shah

i) Faculty of Pure & Applied Sciences – Ms. Anuradha Rohinkar

j) Faculty of Social Work – Ms. Neha Gandhi

k) Faculty of Vocational Studies – Ms. Shital (Choksi) Thakar

l) Faculty of Information & Library Sciences – Shri. Chirag Patel

1.1 (v)

Three eminent academicians and three eminent professionals from outside the University

a) Dr. C.A. Desai – Ex. Dean-Medical Faculty, B. J. Medical college, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad -380016 – Add : B-2 Status Apartment, Opp. Navrangpura telephone exchange, Elisbridge, Ahmedabad-380006

b) Dr. S. N. Gupta – Superintendent & Prof., Head Dept. of Kayacikitsa, J. S. Ayurveda College, Nadiad Ayurveda College, college road, Nadiad

c) Dr. Navin Sheth – Member – Gujarat Public Service Commission Ahmedabad – Pharmacognosy, D-Block, 1st Floor, M S Building, Lal Darwaja, Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380001

d) Dr. Kiran Joshi – Management – Board of Director at GIPCL, MGVCL, Ex. Prof. of M. S. University. 47-B, Dhanlaxmi Soc. No. 2, Bh. Aryakanya Chatralaya, Karelibaug, Vadodara-18

e) Ar. Shri Yatin Pandya – Proprietor, Footprint EARTH, Ahmedabad, Milan Bunglow, Near Sargam Flats, Near Giriraj Society, Ahemadabad City, Ahmadabad- 380014.

f) Prof.(Dr) Indrajeet Patel – Prof. Structural Engg. – Dept. of Applied mechanics, B.V.M. Engineering College, V.V. Nagar, Anand.

1.1 (vii)

One Member from the Board of Management

Dr. Devanshu J. Patel – President

1.1 (viii)

Two advisors to Parul University

a) Dr. Mahesh B. Patel , Prof. of Pathology, Dept. of Pathology, and Dean-Medical Faculty, B. J. Medical college, Gujarat University, Ahmedabad -380016

b) Dr. Sandeep Shah – Prof. & Head, Dept of Psychiatry, GMERS, Medical College, Gotri Road, Vadodara – 390021


Registrar shall be Member – Secretary

Dr. H. S. Vijayakumar